About GADE - Group for Advancement of Doctoral Education in Social Work

GADE Board of Directors

The GADE Board of Directors (Board) serves as the administrative body of the organization. The Board consists of ten persons elected by the voting membership of the organization. All members must be directors of doctoral programs in member schools/colleges at the time of their election to the Board.

2022-2023 Board of Directors





President (ending 2025)
Dr. Denise Burnette
Virginia Commonwealth University
School of Social Work





Immediate Past Co-President (ending 2023)
Dr. G. Lawrence Farmer
Fordham University
Graduate School of Social Service





Immediate Past Co-President (ending 2023) 
Dr. Julia R. Henly
The University of Chicago
Crown Family School of Social Work,
Policy, and Practice





Secretary (ending 2025) 
Dr. Mimi Chapman
The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
School of Social Work





Treasurer (ending 2024)
Dr. Chi-Fang Wu
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
School of Social Work





Member (ending 2025)
Dr. Sondra Fogel
University of South Florida
School of Social Work





Member (ending 2023)
Dr. Michael C. LaSala
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey
School of Social Work





Member (ending 2024)
Dr. Jerome Schiele
Morgan State University
School of Social Work





Member (ending 2025)
Dr. Tova Walsh
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Sandra Rosenbaum School of Social Work





Member (ending 2024)
Dr. Anne Williford
Colorado State University
College of Health and Human Sciences